Blog Archives

British Waveski Championships 2014

A long trip over to Manorbier for the British Waveski and Surf Kayak Championships – only for there to be no waves! The event was relocated to Freshwater West where there was a small wave, and since the forecast for the 2nd day was completely flat the main open kayak categories were abandoned to a future rerun date. This allowed enough time in the single day to get through the masters, ladies, juniors and ski categories. I competed in the waveski category, coming 2nd in my heat and 4th in my semi final, meaning joint 7th place overall. Not bad for the biggest event I competed in this year and means I managed to finish the year in 2nd place in the British Waveski rankings and 3rd in the English Surf Kayak rankings (Ski category). Result!

British Surf Kayak Championships 2012 video

Some footage from the British Championships in 2012 – pretty sure the 2nd wave is me.

British Surf Kayak Championships 2012

After wanting to go for the last couple of years I finally managed to get to the British Open. Onshore conditions meant the competition site was changed from Freshwater West to Manorbier, with accommodation and evening festivities at Shrinkle Haven YHA, so only 700 miles round trip! Footage is from the afternoon of day 1, ladies and long boats – too much hail to get any useful footage on day 2! Congratulations to Team Wales for putting on a great event. The 2013 event is taking place in Ireland.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Men’s Short boat
British Open Champion 2012 –
1= Corin King
2= Chris Hobson
3= Philip Watson
4= James Hawker
5= Pete Blenkinsop
5= Adam Harvey
7= Marc Woolward
7= Chris Harvey
9= Glen Scott
9= Keiran Mc Dyre
9= Paul Robertson
9= Tim Thomas
13= Tom Iggledon
13= Derek Brown
15= Matt Long
15= Ashley Hunter
15= Glyn Brackenbury
18= James Mc Dyre
18= Marc Holland
18= Paul Bramble
21= Richard Whittaker
21= Ed Long
21= Dan Green
21= James Roberts
25= Jack Horwell
25= Dylan Petherick
25= David Merrifield
28= Chris Watson
28= Sam Davenport

Men’s Long boat
British Open Champion 2012 –
1= James Hawker
2= Corrin King
3= Glyn Brackenbury
4= Philip Watson
5= Chris Hobson
5= Tim Thomas
7= Christopher Olivier
8= Pete Blenkinsop
9= Matt Long
10= Derek Brown
11= William Johnson
12= Ed Long
12= David Merrifield
14= Ashley Hunter

Masters’ Short boat
British Open Champion 2012 –
1= Marc Woolward
2= Andrew Mc Cullough
3= Del Elesmore
4= James O Donnell
5= Darcey Muncer
5= Stuart Mc Glinchey
7= Dennis Mc Dyre
7= Andy Bailey

Masters’ Long boat
British Open Champion 2012 –
1= James O’Donnell
2= Andrew Mc Cullough
3= Del Elesmere
4= Stuart Mc Glinchey
5= Christopher Olliver
6= Darcey Muncer

Women’s Short boat
British Open Champion 2012 –
1= Tamsin Green
2= Emma Fishleigh
3= Rachel Wall
4= Kimberley Valance

Women’s Long boat
British Open Champion 2012 –
1= Tamsin Green
2= Chris Elesmere
3= Emma Fishleigh
4= Kimberley Valance

Junior Short boat
British Open Champion 2012 –
1= Jack Barker
2= Jake King
3= Aidan Brackenbury
4= Andy Mc Clelland
5= Glen Scott
6= James Gossan
7= Connor O Donnell
8= Thomas Evans
9= Jake Vautier

Junior Long boat
British Open Champion 2012 –
1= Jack Barker
2= Aidan Brackenbury
3= Jake King
4= James Gossan
5= Andy Mc Clelland
6= William Johnson
7= Jake Vautier